Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Who is fluent in French here
I've decided to learn French this year. I understand basic French but I want to become fluent. English is my second language so it's not like it's my first time learning a new language I'm fluent in Portuguese, about 75% in Spanish. Just wondering how many Habs fans on these boards can speak French.
Thanks given by:
Don't hold out on me. I'm going to take a guess that Sean, Higginsfan and maybe Scriptor and Habba' speak French.
Thanks given by:
French, English, same thing for me. Spanish? Used to be fluent but lost a lot of it since. Can get by, if the accent I'm listening to agrees with me.
Thanks given by:
I'd say I'm almost fluent. I get a bit nervous when I need to speak French to an actual francophone beyond basic business transactions but I understand almost everything said to me and in writing. Watching habs games in French really helped me
Thanks given by:
(2017-01-10, 05:58 PM)mada7 Wrote: I'd say I'm almost fluent. I get a bit nervous when I need to speak French to an actual francophone beyond basic business transactions but I understand almost everything said to me and in writing. Watching habs games in French really helped me

You live in Montreal?
Thanks given by:
I was born in Sherbrooke and am fluent in French even after over 25 years out West.
"Only one thing matters in life, and it's the cup"  
                                            - Caresse Crosby

Thanks given by:
(2017-01-10, 06:25 PM)Leb7 Wrote: I was born in Sherbrooke and am fluent in French even after over 25 years out West.

Nice.
Thanks given by:
(2017-01-10, 06:25 PM)Leb7 Wrote: I was born in Sherbrooke and am fluent in French even after over 25 years out West.

When I lived in LA (over a year) and Vancouver (4 years until 2001), I had absolutely nobody to speak French with but, I listened to the French CBC, RDI and RDS and that kept my ear sharp and enabled me not to lose my native tongue.